2016 Annual Membership Exhibition

You are here: Home » Past Exhibitions » 2016 Annual Membership Exhibition


paint_palette_with_a_paintbrush_0515-1001-0204-0237_SMUJanuary 16 – February 21, 2016

The 42nd AKMA Membership Exhibition showcases the talents of museum members. It is open to current members of the Museum and anyone that would like to join. Each member may submit two original works not previously exhibited at the museum. Artworks are divided into eight categories: Oil or Acrylic Painting, Watercolor Painting, Drawing, Printmaking, Photography, Sculpture and Ceramics, 2-D Mixed Media Art, and Digital Art.  After all work is submitted, the exhibition is judged and awards are presented in each category.   The 2016 Winners in each category are:

Category I. Painting: oil/acrylic
1st – Brent Seevers, Birdies on the Lawn
1st – Beverly Todd, Seeing the Whole of Life
2nd – Chance Allen, Dan Johnson
2nd – Brent Dean, Vase and Oranges
3rd – Robert Peterson, Paramount-Before the Show
Hon. Mention – Candace Castle, MuseCategory II. Watercolor
1st – Lana Cease, Alluring
2nd – Dorothy Tietz, Gyre and Gimble
3rd – Donna Jean Boyer, City of St. Joseph Skyline
Hon. Mention – Deanna Trapp, Back to SchoolCategory III. Drawing
1st – Wanda Taylor, Woodland Mist
2nd – Wanda Taylor, Savannah Grazer
3rd – Jean Terry, Morning Awakens
Hon. Mention – Frederick McDonald, AugustCategory IV. Printmaking
1st – Lee Powell, Print 2
2nd – Laurel DeFreece, Broken Wings
3rd – Kristen Waterman, Gaia
Hon. Mention – Lee Powell, Print 1

Category V. Photography
1st – Phillip Geller, Shoe in Block
2nd – Hugh McFadden, Playing with a Stick
3rd – Brad Harrah, Lordy Lordy
Hon. Mention – Olivia Greer, Light

Category VI.  Sculpture/Ceramics
1st – Leila Hicks, Big Shino Jar
2nd – Lin Werner, Vessel #1
2nd – Deb Potter, Garden Paradise
3rd – Leila Hicks, Antilles Collaboration
3rd – Deb Potter, Trees
Hon. Mention – Gene Cease, Premeditated
Hon. Mention – Lin Werner, Vessel #2

Category VII.  2-D Mixed Media
1st – Nora Othic, Medusa
1st – Nora Othic, The Minotaur
2nd – Nancy Clisbee, Hot Cargo and No Man’s Land
2nd – Caroline Clark-Murphy, Short Leaf Pine
3rd – Caroline Clark-Murphy, Rose of Sharon
Hon. Mention – Sylvia Cook, Entrapment
Hon. Mention – Dennis Weiser, Safe Harbor
Hon. Mention – Jan Powell, Agua Calientes

Category VIII.  Digital Art
1st – Carolyn Anderson, NO. 2 Pencil
2nd – Carolyn Anderson, Park Rides
3rd – Mechele Humphreys, Flowers